Congratulations to the winners of the BNOCL Scholarships!!

The  Barbados National Oil Company  Limited (BNOCL) awarded eleven (11) scholarships to students of the Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute of Technology  (SJPI) for the year 2020-2021.

The recipients were selected from a field of 107 applicants from which  thirty (30) were shortlisted. The prospective candidates were interviewed and the eleven (11) winners were determined. The top two (2) performing scholarship recipients will receive an internship with the BNOCL.  Each scholarship is worth $ 1,000.00 and will be used to fund student expenses for the next academic year!

An awards ceremony was held  on November 2, 2020 in the auditorium of the SJPI to honour these persons. Present were officials from the BNOCL and the SJPI. Chairman of the SJPI Board of Management Mr. Shelton Perkins welcomed the guests while Mr. Alex Mc Donald, Chairman of the Board of Management of the BNOCL delivered the charge to the recipients. Mr. James Brown, Chief Executive Officer of the BNOCL and Ms.  Audrey Jones-Drayton, Acting Principal presented the awards.

The recipients of the Scholarships are:

Ms. Ibriel Holder, and Mr. Benjamin Bourne – Electrical Installation

Mr. Rahshon Bostic, Ms. Angenique Quintin, Mr. Jakobi Martin, Mr. Joel Allman, Mr. Azeem Baptiste, and Mr. Alexander Fields – Mechanical Maintenance Engineering

Mr. Nathan Daniel and Mr. Shain Bascombe – Motor Vehicle Engineering

Chairman of the BNOCL, Mr. Alex McDonald addressing the audience.

The theme of the event was “Developing talent for a sustainable future”. Alex McDonald, BNOCL Chairman, in offering words of advice to the students, stressed the importance of education in attaining goals and grasping opportunities. Mr. McDonald also highlighted that only two females were recipients of the scholarship and expressed the hope that this disparity could be improved. He also encouraged BNOCL Chief Executive Officer, James Brown, to consider facilitating studies in Renewable Energy at the SJPI.

Chairman of the Board of Management of Samuel Jackman Institute of Technology, Mr. Shelton Perkins addressing the audience.

In giving the welcome remarks, SJPI Chairman, Shelton Perkins, stated that the scholarships were a definite indication and recognition of the direct link between the SJPI and the world of work. He noted that there was a mutually beneficial relationship between the two institutions, in which the SJPI pledges to play its part. Mr. Perkins also promised that the administration was committed to ensuring that students were well prepared to make a positive contribution to the changing technology landscape. Mr. Perkins told the students that their gratitude must be demonstrated in their diligence and commitment not only to excellence, but to being the innovators of the future.

Pictured above are Mr. Alex McDonald, Chairman of the BNOCL, Mr. James Brown, Chief Executive Officer, BNOCL, Ms. Audrey Jones-Drayton, Principal Ag, SJPI, Mr. Shelton Perkins, Chairman of the Board of Management of the SJPI, Mr. Ronnie Gittens, Human Resources Manager, BNOCL.
Pictured above are the scholarship recipients and officials.